What’s Your Love Language?

5-love-languagesThe 5 Languages of Love

You and your partner may speak the same language but as they say 93% of communication is non-verbal. There are many ways to show your partner you love them – I’ve purchased gifts, written letters and given massages but to my man, nothing means as much as a simple post it note with a random joke. It’s because his main language of love is words of affirmation. He equates love with words. There are 5 languages of love. Which one do you speak? And your partner? Knowing which language takes priority can help you elevate your relationship just a notch.

The 5 Languages of Love 

Words of affirmation – the use of words to communicate affection

Acts of service – where actions speak louder than words

Receiving gifts – where gifts mean affection

Quality time – giving someone their undivided attention

Physical touch – when body language, hugs and kisses mean more than words

So how do you put it into practice?

Understand your partner’s love language and use it. Here are some ideas to put the 5 love languages to practice:

Words of affirmation – Write letters, leave post it notes, be sure that when you get them a gift you get them a card expressing how you feel about them

Acts of service – If you know they need their light bulb replaced or their lap top fixed, do it for them. It may be inconvenient for you but it’ll mean more to them than you think

Receiving gifts – Now this may sound like an easy one but a gift can show how much or how little you know a person. I got roses last valentine’s day. It may sound ungrateful but it only showed how little the sender knew me (they’re lovely but roses on Valentine’s Day is too much of a cliche for me). Putting thought into a gift takes effort and your efforts will be rewarded.

Quality time – You can set aside some time on the couch with your partner but it’s important to be present…even if you’re just watching a movie. That means turning off all social media and switching off your phone. No distractions

Physical touch – Pretty self explanatory =)

You and your partner don’t need to speak the same love language – you just need to understand what each other value and then communicate in their ‘language’.

What’s your love language?

Photo courtesy David Mao


Iona is a Wellness Coach specialising in relationships and dating. She works with single women to write their own love stories.